Writer’s Digest Interviews Marcia Strykowski

Marcia Strykowski, author of Call Me Amy, was recently interviewed by Chuck Sambuchino of Writers’ Digest. Read the full interview here. 

front.amy

Here’s an excerpt:

Briefly, what led up to this book?

The setting for Call Me Amy developed from strong memories of my grandparents’ home on the coast of Maine. This story was one of my earliest attempts at writing and kept evolving over the years until it became a children’s novel. I had many short stories published in magazines and anthologies, before I took the time to complete Call Me Amy.

What was the time frame for writing this book?

The first inklings of Call Me Amy began almost 20 years ago. Every so often I would pick it up again in between other writing projects, raising children, and working at a public library. With great affection, I always returned to Amy, and eventually it became the book it is today. It can take forever to send out manuscripts, since some publishers don’t allow simultaneous submissions (one editor declined after 3 years) so it was good I kept busy with other things!

How did you find your agent (and who is your agent)?

I don’t have an agent. After receiving positive feedback from several editors at large publishing houses, I decided to try a few more companies that were open to submissions. I received ‘the call’ from Luminis Books in January 2012. They answered all my questions in a professional and knowledgeable manner. I happily signed the contract and never looked back.

Thanks, Marcie! We’re pleased to have you on the Luminis Team!

IMG_5790

Leave a comment

Filed under News About Our Books

Leave a Reply

